New economic agreement for Canada

Simplify your international development

  • Home
  • New economic agreement for Canada
Request your vat refund 2018 !
Deadline for submission of claims June 30, 2019
You are a company established outside the EU
You made purchases in one of the Member States of the EU!
You are maybe eligible for VAT refund

New economic agreement for Canada

In line with the free trade agreement between United States, Mexico (USMCA) and the European Union (CETA), Canada facilitates access to new markets with the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP), signed on December 30th 2019.


The CPTPP agreement was concluded between Canada and several states of the Asia-Pacific region: Australia, Canada, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Singapore and Vietnam. Brunei, Peru and Chile will sign the agreement and join CPTPP soon.


When CPTPP agreement comes into effect, customs duties will be removed for 99% of tariff lines, covering most of Canada’s exports to these countries. Trade procedures are also simplified and more transparent. SMEs will benefit from dedicated business informations to help them access new Asia-Pacific markets. Many sectors are involved: financial services, agribusiness, agriculture, e-commerce, etc.


While providing Canada preferential access, CPTPP agreement ensures that all signatories follow strict rules. Provisions have been made for protecting workers and the environment. For example a signatory country may have ability to impose trade sanctions in case of breached labour regulations. The agreement guarantees that local laws must imply acceptable terms regarding salary, safety rules and work schedules. In the field of intellectual property, the text indicates that Canada maintains its current regime concerning the length of patents and copyright protection.

Click here to read the full agreement-text.


CPTPP provides excellent opportunities for Canadian companies wishing to access the Asia-Pacific markets that represent 495 millions consumers and 13,5% of global GDP. ASD Group’s Canadian agency can advise you on your exports and customs operations. For more informations, contact us.

Subscribe to ASD Group's newsletter
and receive all our latest information and news.
Newsletter modal
Nos experts sont à votre disposition pour répondre à toutes vos questions.
Pakar kami siap membantu Anda untuk menjawab semua pertanyaan Anda.
Our experts are at your disposal to answer your questions.
Nuestros expertos están a su disposición para responder a todas sus preguntas. ¡Realice una consulta gratuita!
Os nossos especialistas estão à sua disposição para responder a todas as suas questões.
I nostri esperti sono a vostra disposizione per rispondere a tutte le tue domande. Approfitta di una consulenza gratuita !
Unsere Experten stehen Ihnen zur Verfügung um Ihnen alle Fragen zu beantworten.
Na váš dotaz obratem odpovíme. Využijte možnosti konzultace!
Nasi eksperci są do Twojej dyspozycji, aby odpowiedzieć na Twoje pytania.
Experții noștri sunt la dispoziția dumneavoastră pentru a vă răspunde la toate întrebările. Profitați de consultanța gratuită !
Onze deskundigen staan tot uw beschikking om al uw vragen te beantwoorden. Krijg gratis advies!
Нашите експерти са на разположение, за да отговорят на въпросите Ви. Възползвайте се от безплатна консултация!